Ashley Hall Academic Calendar | Private School in Charleston, SC

2024-25 Academic Calendar

Ashley Hall's Academic Calendar | Charleston, South Carolina

Half-day dismissal times vary per division as follows:

Pre-Primary | 11 to 11:15 a.m. (Rutledge Avenue)

Primary | 11:15 to 11:30 a.m. (Rutledge Avenue)

Pre-Kindergarten | 11:30 to 11:45 a.m. (Smith Street)

Kindergarten | 11:30 a.m.

Grades 1-2 | 11:45 a.m.

Grades 3-4 | 12 p.m.

Grades 5-12 | 12:15 p.m.

Please note that Extended Day is unavailable when a half-day is scheduled. 

2024-2025 Academic Calendar

Friday, August 16 | Upper School Parent Welcome Coffee (grades 9–12) | 8:30–10 a.m.

Monday, August 19 | Welcome & Orientation Day
    Early, Lower, and Middle Schools (Individual student & parent conferences throughout day)
    Upper School Student Orientation | Half-Day dismissal*
     Specific details, including conference scheduling, will be shared by Division Directors mid-July.

Tuesday, August 20 | Early School half-day dismissal* | Full day for all other grades

Monday, September 2 | Labor Day | No classes

Wednesday September 11 | An Evening in the Intermediate Program (grades 5 & 6) | 6 – 7:30 p.m. (parent event)

Thursday, September 12 | An Evening in Lower School | 6 – 7:30 p.m. (parent event) 

Tuesday, September 17 | K–Grade 8 International Baccalaureate (IB) Faculty Professional Development | Half-day dismissal* for kindergarten through grade 8 only

Wednesday, September 18 | An Evening in Grades 7–12 | 5:30 –8 p.m. (parent event)

Thursday, September 19 | An Evening in Early School | 6 – 7:30 p.m. (parent event) 

Friday, October 11 | Grandfriends’ Day for Early & Lower Schools | Half-day dismissal* for all grades

Monday, October 14 – Tuesday, October 15 | Fall Break | No classes

Friday, November 1 | Conference Day | No classes

Wednesday, November 13 | K – Grade 8 IB Faculty Professional Development | Half-day dismissal* for kindergarten through grade 8 only

Monday, November 25 – Friday, November 29 | Thanksgiving Break | No classes

Friday, December 20 | Holiday Break begins | Half-day dismissal* for all grades

Tuesday, January 7 | Classes Resume

Monday, January 20 | Martin Luther King Jr. Day | No classes

Monday, February 17 – Tuesday, February 18 | Winter Break | No classes

Tuesday, February 25 | K– Grade 8 Faculty IB Professional Development | Half-day dismissal* for kindergarten through grade 8 only

Friday, March 14 | Faculty Workday | No classes

Monday, March 24 | Conference Day | No classes

Friday, March 28 | Fathers’ & Friends’ Morning | Half-day dismissal* for all grades

Monday, March 31 – Friday, April 4 | Spring Break | No classes

Wednesday, April 23 | K – Grade 8 IB Faculty Professional Development | Half-day dismissal* for kindergarten through grade 8 only

Friday, May 9 | Last day of classes for grades 11 & 12

Monday, May 12 | Grades 11& 12 begin exams (end May 16)

Wednesday, May 21 | Grades 710 last day of classes

Thursday, May 22 | Grades 7 –10 begin exams (end May 30)

Friday, May 23 | Upper School Awards Ceremony (grades 9 –12) | 2 –3:30 p.m.

Friday, May 23 | Baccalaureate | 6:30 – 8 p.m. | Grades 9 –11 students required to attend

Sunday, May 25 | Commencement | 6:30 – 7:30 p.m. | Grades 9 –11 students required to attend

Monday, May 26 | Memorial Day | No classes

Thursday, May 29 | Lower School Closing Ceremony & Grade 4 Celebration | 8:30 – 9:30 a.m. | Grades K–4 students are expected to attend and grade 4 parents are invited)

Thursday, May 29 | Early School Closing Ceremony & Pre-Kindergarten Celebration | 10:30 –11:30 a.m. | Pre-kindergarten students and parents are invited to attend)

Thursday, May 29 | Early School, Lower School, and Grades 5 & 6 half-day dismissal*

Thursday, May 29 | Closing Ceremony for Grade 8 | 2 –3 p.m. |Grade 8 students are expected to attend and grade 8 parents are invited

Friday, May 30 |Make-up Exam Day for grades 7-10 and Junior Internship Completion (all grade 11 students expected on campus)

* Half-day dismissal times vary per division and may be found on the Divisional Fast Facts Board in the Learning Commons. The 2024-2025 Ashley Hall Academic Calendar is subject to change during the year due to inclement weather, evolving circumstances, and/or governmental recommendations or requirements. (June 18, 2024)

2024-2025 Academic Calendar

 

 

 

Connect with us

Ashley Hall is a K-12 independent school for girls, with a co-ed preschool, committed to a talented and diverse student population. We consider for admission students of any race, color, religion, and national or ethnic origin.
×